New Maverick Owner – Please help me out with a few issues! :(

Home Forums BullPups FX New Maverick Owner – Please help me out with a few issues! :(

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    championofthesun
    Participant

Hi guys! I just grabbed a .22 Maverick Sniper and Element Helix scope from TalonTunes (Thanks Tony!) and I am having some setup woes. I am a noob to the FX airguns, but have owned Airforce Airguns for almost 2 decades.

Let’s try and segment these issues with numbering. I would appreciate responses in the same manner, please and thank ya! 🙂

• Issue # 1: Fine Tuning – What are the best reg pressures for shooting 25 grain NSA slugs at like 950?
      • Can a stock Maverick even shoot 25 grainers at 950? I feel like this should be possible!
      • I started with 180/150 bar reg pressures as I’d seen from 68 Whiskey and others. I could not get it to shoot even close to 900. I have my hammer adjustment out as far as it will go. Any further and I cannot cock the hammer on the “7” setting.
        • Suspected I was overpowering my hammer spring with too much pressure. Reduced rear reg from 150 to like 110 achieving 920fps. Better.
        • I suppose now I need to reset my front reg to like 150?
        • Please advise best tuning settings (Regs, Hammer, etc) for 25gr slugs. Would ideally like to hit 950 all day and never adjust it again.

• Issue #2: Check Valve
      • I removed my tank and lost all my air. Check valve not working
      • Doesn’t seem to leak air when on the gun
      • Looks like a special tool is needed to remove the valve. How are you guys removing the valve from FX tanks?